The IELTS test takes approximately 2 hours and 45 minutes. IELTS test has four sections– Listening (30 minutes), Reading (60 minutes), Writing (60 minutes) and Speaking (11–14 minutes).  The Listening, Reading and Writing tests are conducted in one sitting. The Speaking test is held on the date you choose during your registration.

IELTS Academic and General Training – in centre (on paper) LKR

IELTS Academic and General Training – in centre (on
computer)      LKR 60,000

IELTS Academic and General Training for UKVI – in centre (on
paper) LKR 74,000

IELTS Academic and General Training for UKVI – in centre (on
computer)     LKR 69,000


IELTS Life Skills (A1 and B1) – in centre (on paper) LKR

As of February 2023

There are two types of IELTS:  Academic and General Training. Academic module is required for student visa process and General module is required when migrating for work.

In both Academic General tests, the Listening and Speaking tests are same but Reading and Writing tests are different. 

There are some options for IELTS, depending on the requirement.
IELTS General for UKVI and IELTS Academic for UKVI are accepted when migrating to the UK.
Some other options include PTE (Pearson Test of English) and the Duolingo English Test. But the acceptance of other English Tests has to be checked with the University, College or Employer you are applying to.

Suppose you want to study in the UK or apply for professional registration. In that case, you should take IELTS Academic for the UKVI test. It is a Secure English Language Test (SELT) approved by the UK home office for visa applications to the United Kingdom.
The Academic for UKVI test is the same as the Academic test in content, format, scoring and difficulty level. However, the UKVI test is only available at test centres that meet the administrative requirements outlined by the UK Home Office. Your Test Report Form (TRF) will look slightly different if you take the UKVI IELTS test.
IELTS and IELTS for UKVI are the same in format, content, scoring and difficulty level. The only difference is the UK Home Office approves an IELTS for the UKVI test for work, study and migration purposes.
UKVI tests are available only in Examination Centres in Colombo & Kandy.
Unex College of Higher Education offers UKVI courses via live classes and online platforms in Sri Lanka.

IELTS General for UKVI (United Kingdom Visa and Immigration) is a government-approved secure English test for visa and immigration to the UK for work and vocational training purposes. 

As the already known common General IELTS exam, here at UKVI, the examiners check the candidate’s English language skills under four parameters: listening, speaking, reading, and writing.

Please read the in detail article for more information. 

IELTS Academic for UKVI (United Kingdom Visas and Immigration) is an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test approved by UK Visas and Immigration for visa applications to the United Kingdom.
The IELTS Academic for UKVI is accepted by UK universities, colleges, employers, and other organisations as proof of English language proficiency for admission, employment, and other purposes.

IELTS Life Skills is for people who must prove their English speaking and listening skills at Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Levels A1, A2 or B1.

You will get one of the two results:

  • Pass
  • Fail.

The level of English competency required to obtain a passing mark on IELTS Life Skills test is equivalent to achieving a score of 4.0 on IELTS test.

No. IELTS has no specific syllabus, even though it can test your general knowledge of modern world trends in speaking and writing modules.

There are some vital criteria to check for an IELTS course provider. Please read our article on How to find the best IELTS course provider on this link.

Well, it depends on your required score level and your current English proficiency.
The best way to get an idea about IELTS is by doing a practice test. IELTS score is given out of 9 points. So achieving 6.5 (required for most Visa purposes) out of 9.0 is a relatively small challenge.

Cambridge English exams are known as Junior IELTS exams and have the same examination format. They are recognized by schools, universities, and private or public sector employers all over the English-speaking world as an option for IELTS.
Success in a Cambridge English exam provides you with an internationally recognized certificate showing the level you have attained in English. These qualifications are valid for a lifetime, whereas IELTS results are valid for only two years.
FCE and CAE levels of the Cambridge English Exams are equivalent to achieving up to 6.5 and 8.0 in IELTS, respectively.

The minimum age required to sit for the IELTS test is 16 years, and there is no maximum age limit.